eetReturn to EET Home

The HomeGrownLocal Food Summit opened on March 1 with a feature called Local Food Victories, highlighting individuals and institutions. Farms, farmers, entrepreneurs, mentors, youth and organizations were acknowledged for their role in “taking us closer to our vision for food”. Because it was so enlightening to see this presentation and comprehend all the great things happening in our food community, and because each of the individuals and entities represent a story worth checking out, the list of honorees is included here. We encourage you to click on the links and learn more about this great series of Victories. This list is an incredible resource guide for local foodies. And the winners are…

 

Women Farmers

Stephanie Phillips, The Family Farmhttp://the-family-farm.com/about.html

Kate Long, Deer Tracks Farm,http://www.realtimefarms.com/farm/1586049/deer-tracks-farm

Jennifer Kangas (UUAA), Capella Farm,http://www.capellafarm.com/

Trilby & Tomm Becker, Sunseed Farm,http://www.farmsunseed.com/

The Doll Family, Back 40 Acres,http://backfortyacres.com/

Infrastructure

Westside Farmers Market, Ann Arborhttp://www.westsidefarmersmarket.com/co-10

Saline Farmers Markethttp://www.ci.saline.mi.us/?module=Page&sID=farmers-market&cf=Visitors

Real Time Farms, Karl Roseanhttp://www.realtimefarms.com/

Arbor Cycle, Ed Weymouthhttp://www.arborcycle.com/

Eat Local Eat Natural, Time Redmond and Bill Taylorhttp://www.eatlocaleatnatural.com/

Lunasa, Dawn Thompson and Jane Pachecohttp://www.lunasa.us/

Preserving Traditions, Emily Springfieldhttp://preservingtraditions.wordpress.com/

Institutions

Farm-at-St.-Joe’s, Dan Bairhttp://www.mercyporthuron.com/the-farm-at-st-joes

Royal Park Hotel, Dan Verniahttp://www.royalparkhotel.net/

Zingerman’s Roadhouse, Chef Alex Young & Cornman Farmshttp://www.zingermansroadhouse.com/cornman-farms/

Silvio’s Organic Pizza, Silvio and Cathy Medorohttp://www.silviosorganicpizza.com/

Good Food Access

Fair Food Network, Rachel Chatterdonhttp://www.fairfoodnetwork.org/

Prescription for Health, Jenna Bacolor and Sharon Sheldonhttp://www.ewashtenaw.org/government/departments/public_health/news/2011-news-stories/prescription-for-health-program-wins-kresge-foundation-funding

Youth

Michigan Young Farmers Coalitionhttp://michiganyoungfarmercoalition.org/

Growing Hope, Amanda Edmondshttp://www.growinghope.net/

New Entrepreneurs

The Brinery, David Klingenburgerhttp://thebrinery.com/

EAT Catering, Helen Harding and Blake Reetzhttp://www.eatannarbor.com/

Harvest Kitchen, Michelle Hartman and Mary Wessell Wackerhttp://www.harvest-kitchen.com/

Mentors

Tantre Farms, Deb Lentz and Richard Andreshttp://tantrefarm.com/

Community Farm of Ann Arbor, Annie Elder and Paul Bantlehttp://www.communityfarmofaa.org/

Frog Holler Organic Farms, The King Familyhttp://www.froghollerorganic.com/

Return to EET Home Page